top of page

a Darling wedding (literally)

Sunday, May 1st started out like any other Sunday does. I was awakened by my two-year-old son, Lucas. I contemplated how to bottle his energy and sell it for profit. No luck. Then, I had breakfast with my husband and son and we spent the morning being lazy and watching Mickey Mouse for the millionth time. Once naptime for Lucas rolled around my nerves starting setting in for the rest of the day. I was second-shooting my first wedding. To be fair I had second-shot one once before for my dear friend Dawn. However, I had never held a camera before that and was just helping out my best friend (and wanted an excuse to go to a beautiful wedding). I shot in auto and I didn't move around much. And I had no business being there. That wedding changed my life. I knew I wanted to try photography, but I also knew I NEVER wanted to do weddings. Haha. So back to May 1st. I have now been shooting families and babies and boudoir and miscellaneous other things for almost two years now. I finally own my own camera (a Nikon, at Dawn's wedding I was using a friend's Canon, so I really switched gears here!) I finally know what I'm doing (mostly) and I finally felt ready to shoot a wedding. But I was nervous. So nervous!! I drove the hour and a half to the venue blaring feel good songs on the radio, and the closer I got, the more beautiful the scenery got. Now, keep in mind I had ZERO clue where this wedding was being held. All I had was an address. So, when I pulled in to see this beautiful old barn on acres of perfect land, my jaw literally dropped. It was breathtaking! It looked like a painting. This did nothing for my nerves by the way because, how was I ever going to do this venue any justice? I was met at my car by Meg (the photographer for this wedding, and my very best friend!) She filled me in on some key details and we immediately got to work. We started with the first look. First, I got to meet the bride, Isabella, who I honestly can say is one of the most beautiful people I have ever met. This wedding was shaping up to be epic, I could tell. She was in a flowy off-white dress and had a picture-perfect flower crown on top of her head. She was a vision. She is what brides dream to be! After talking to Isabella a bit, I ran to the basement of the barn where I met Daniel, the groom, and again picture perfect! This couple is quite literally the most adorable and good looking couple I gave ever seen. I was over my head for sure. How was I supposed to shoot this wedding?? It was too perfect and I was sure I would screw it up. Spoil alert: I didn't!!

The first look went down without a hitch and Meg rocked it!!! She shot from the groom's side and I shot from the bride's so that we were able to give them images of them seeing each other for the first time. I loved being on the bride's side. I was able to see Daniel before he saw his bride and watch as he nervously tried to stand so still as she came dancing down the hill behind him. He wanted to turn around so badly, but he waited and when he did turn I could no longer see his face as he was now facing Meg, but Isabella's was priceless. She looked so happy and so in love and so ready to marry her dream man. I kept hearing her so say over and over again "we're getting married!" And her smile just took over her face. It was like Meg and I weren't even there clicking away. Isabella and Daniel were just alone in that moment. It was truly something magical.

The rest of the wedding went just as smoothly and beautifully. It was indeed perfection, right down to the BBQ they were so gracious to allow us to share with them. Their vows were hand written and delivered with so much love. I had to fight back tears watching it through my camera. The first dance was adorable and goofy, much like the couple themselves. The father/daughter dance.... oh you guys that dance! I wish I had photographic evidence of it but I don't. I was crying so hard! Thankfully I was the second shooter and Meg was prepared and on her game. But, I have never been so blown away by a moment as I was with that father/daughter dance. They danced to "You've Got A Friend In Me" from Toy Story. Isabella's parents are both deaf and use ASL, so they signed together through the whole song and it was breathtaking! It really moved me. The entire wedding from start to finish was just so perfect. And I will forever be grateful to Isabella and Daniel for allowing a total stranger, a wedding newbie even, to be a part of their day. I even think I want to shoot weddings now. I want to be a wedding photographer. Without the Darlings, I don't know that I would have realized this. They will hold a special place in my heart forever.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page