top of page

About Last Night: my first shutter sisters meet up

I don't even know where to start. I was so nervous last night to go and meet some of the most amazing and talented women in the field of wedding photography. I mean, they are women who have dedicated their lives to this job and it's what they do full time. And who am I? I'm a nanny who picked up a camera two years ago, second shot a wedding and decided yeah, I could do this. I had no idea how hard "this" was. Fast forward two years later, it's still hard. But, at least I know a little bit more about what I'm doing.

OK so back to last night. I ended up on a Facebook group called Shutter Sisters (thanks to Amber Robinson for the invite) and I swear to you guys, I had no idea it would change my life!!!! I went from this "faking it till I make it" attitude to "you know if I practice like crazy and never give up, I can totally do this for a living, I actually think I may have what it takes". The group in itself was such a huge confidence booster. The ladies were all so sweet and welcoming and gave the best advice. When I found out they do monthly meet-ups in Baltimore, I was seriously over the moon. I couldn't wait to be a part of it and invited myself to last night's Cinco De Mayo meet up. I was so so so so nervous. You guys, when I say nervous it's an understatement. I was starving the whole car ride there and couldn't even eat a taco (a taco you guys!! The best food ever) when I got there, yeah THAT nervous! The night started with THE Ashton Kelley meeting me at the front door and my heart just started racing. I walked in and saw the beautiful set up and froze. Ice cold frozen!! Sat in my seat and just listened while these ladies talked about wedding photography and clients and I felt like they were speaking a foreign language. I spent the first fifteen minutes internally crying and thinking "what have I done?! I don't belong here!! I'm an idiot for thinking this was a good idea." Seriously, Kevin Hart was SCREAMING "SHE WASN'T REEEEEADY" in my head. But, then I opened my mouth and started talking (OK, I had a margarita first) and what would you know, these talented ladies are just that, ladies. Humans, people just like me. They all started somewhere too and have become these amazing photographers. It wasn't overnight, it probably wasn't always easy. Hell, it's probably still not always easy. I heard some crazy stories last night. But, they made me feel like it was okay to be new. It was OK to be afraid and it was OK to want to do bigger and better things. They encouraged me to take chances and to learn and try new things. They lifted me up and raised my spirits without even trying. These women were incredible and selfless. They never once made me feel like I shouldn't be there or I wasn't ready to be in their presence. And by the end of the night, we had inside jokes (it's 9:47!!!!) And we were laughing like crazy. I even brought out my camera and shot with some of the most talented people I have ever met. It was truly magical! I learned so much in the 3 hours I spent with them.

And, I am happy to say that I left at the end of the night not only feeling like these women were empowering and encouraging, I also feel like they are my friends. I cannot wait for more nights like last night!

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page