top of page

Turning 30...


So, the title says it all, doesn't it? I'm turning 30... in 3 days actually. Do you have questions? Do they sound like this: How do I feel about this? How does this pertain to my photography page? Why did I chose to make this subject my first blog post? Well, I don't really know the answer to those. But, I'm going to keep typing and see what comes out :-) Because, as you will come to find out, I am a talker! I'm just gonna type without thinking here. Yep, that sounds like me!

Let's start with how I feel about turning 30. EXCITED! Scared, sad, happy, unsure, hmmm yep I'm all over the place here. Well, I am excited. I am excited to see where 30 brings me. I am excited to see if big things happen for me at 30, I also am kind of hoping Jennifer Garner shows up and acts like a 13-year-old from the 80's and brings me some Razzles. Is this too much to ask? I think not. Where are my Razzles? Boo, guess that won't be happening.

Moving on, I am scared. I am scared that big things won't happen for me this year. I'm scared I won't accomplish the things I am dreaming of for this next year. I have so many big goals for my photography. (Yeah, I'm just gonna segway into the photography part). I want a studio and I want a lot more clients and I want props -- oh god I have a love for props that I cannot explain. And I want business cards and for this blog to do well. And, I want to shoot live births and Fresh 48's and I want so much. But, most of all the studio. I have this idea in my head of a studio with big open windows and a newborn room. And a boudoir room with a giant king sized bed and a beautiful bed set and candles and props (yep, those guys again). And I want to work full time in my studio as a photographer. I know of all these things I want and I have this picture in my head, but how on Earth do I make these things come to be? This scares me. It also makes me happy because I know what I want and I will fight to get it! For the time being I am loving my hobby. I love meeting new people, making women realize the beauty they have inside them, making memories for new parents-to-be, capturing a baby's first few days, and I am loving taking pictures for anybody I can and practicing my craft. I am loving meeting new people and connecting with them all. I want to venture into weddings someday and actually just got offered my first wedding job yesterday. This is a big big BIG step to take and I am so nervous, but mostly excited.

I guess you can say that my emotions on turning 30 are kind of scattered, but in the end I really think this is my year! I have already scheduled more jobs for this year than I have done in the past 2 years that I have been doing photography semi-professionally, and I feel like this is really the beginning of an amazing time in my life. I can't wait to see what happens and I hope you guys keep checking in on me :-) Ask questions, leave comments, and tell me how you really feel. I want to hear it all. The good, the bad, and the opinionated.

Until next time,

Erin :-)

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page